LIEB BLOG

How current events impact business & real estate

Showing posts with label liebschool. Show all posts
Showing posts with label liebschool. Show all posts

Friday, October 15, 2021

NY Real Estate Broker and Real Estate Salesperson License Renewal FAQ

Who regulates my New York State Real Estate License?

Your license is regulated by the Department of State, New York (DOS) and NOT by any real estate school or trade organization.


Where can I take Continuing Education classes?


What are the Continuing Education requirements for real estate agents in NY?

All licensees must receive 22.5 hours of continuing education every 2 years to stay licensed. NY Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons that were previously exempt from Continuing Education will no longer be exempt and will need to have completed the full CE requirements, including the new subjects prior to submitting a renewal on or after 7/1/2021. The 22.5 hours must include:

  • 3 hours on fair housing &/or discrimination
  • 2.5 hours on ethical business practices
  • 1 hour on recent legal matters governing the practice of real estate brokers and salespersons in New York, which may include statutes, laws, regulations, rules, codes, Department of State Opinions and Decisions, and Court Decisions
  • 1 hour on the law of agency (2 hours in the initial 2-year cycle)

Are there any exemptions for Continuing Education requirements for real estate agents in New York?

NY Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons that were previously exempt from Continuing Education will no longer be exempt and will need to have completed the full CE requirements, including the new subjects prior to submitting a renewal on or after 7/1/2021.

Does Lieb School report my completed credits to the Department of State (DOS)? Am I responsible for sending my course certificates to the DOS?

Credits received from Lieb School count towards the 22.5 required from the DOS for license renewal. Certificates provided at each class serve as proof of credit hours (think of them as a receipt). After each class, Lieb School submits to the Department of State, Bureau of Educational Standards, all licensee information for successful completion of each course. Upon license renewal, the DOS will require the original signed certificates if you are selected for an audit. Make sure that you keep your certificates in a safe place. In the event of an audit, the DOS will cross reference the certificates with the student completion records received by each school. You are responsible for completing all 22.5 credits by your license renewal deadline date.


How do I renew my New York State Real Estate License?

License renewals must be completed online through the Department of State eACCESSny website. Please note that the renewal process requires licensees to validate education completion by answering “Yes” to the Continuing Education question that confirms all CE requirements have been satisfied. If you mistakenly answer “No”, the DOS will not renew your license until they see all original course completion certificates. You also have to hold onto the original course completion certificates in the event of a license audit by the DOS.


I am a former NYS Real Estate Licensed Salesperson. My license Expired. Can I renew it with just taking CE classes?

A licensee (salesperson or broker) can renew their license anytime within two years of the expiration date. Of course they cannot use the license once it is expired, but they do have two years to renew it before any penalties are imposed.

If the license is expired and has not been expired for over two years, they can renew the license online as long as there is a broker of record in place and they have completed the required continuing education. If they were terminated/cancelled by their previous broker, a broker must pick them up using the brokers eAccess account before they can submit an online renewal.

If the license has been expired for over two years, the record becomes null and void. At this point the licensee must retake and pass the NY licensing examination and can then reapply for a license. No continuing education is required to reapply as they are starting over. No qualifying education is required as long as they have a record in the Department of State system or can prove that they were previously issued a license.