Monday, October 08, 2018

How To Renew Your Real Estate License In New York State

Your license is regulated by the Department of State, New York (DOS) and NOT by any real estate school or trade organization.

Every 2 years, licensed real estate brokers and salespersons in the State of New York are required to take 22.5 continuing education credits

  • 3 Hours of instruction pertaining to Fair Housing and/or Discrimination in the sale or rental of real property or an interest of real property
  • 2 Hours of Agency Disclosure for the initial two-year licensing term and at least 1 hour of Agency Disclosure in subsequent renewal cycles.

To renew your license with the Department of State, follow these steps:
Step 1: Click on www.dos.ny.gov/licensing/eaccessny.html
Step 2: Select "Access My Account"
Step 3: Log into your account using your established User ID and Password. If you forgot your password, please use the "Forgot your password?" function located below the logon area. If you have NEVER logged on to your account, then e-mail eAccessNY@dos.ny.gov and they will e-mail you a temporary password. Please use that temporary password to log on and set up a permanent password and secret question.
Step 4: Select "List of Licenses" / select the license number issued by the Department of State
Step 5: Select "Renew License" and complete the online application


Important information- Please read carefully prior to submitting your license renewal.

  • Be a licensed real estate broker; AND
  • Have maintained continuous licensure from July 1, 1993 to present (There can be no breaks in licensure for reasons such as late renewal submission); AND
  • Be engaged full-time in the real estate business.

The DOS conducts routine audits for compliance with continuing education requirements. If you are the subject of an audit, you must provide course completion certificates or satisfactory proof that you are exempt from this requirement. 
Be advised that the NAR Code of Ethics course may be credited for continuing education but DOES NOT meet the 3 hour fair housing requirement.
The law does provide for an exemption from the continuing education requirement. To qualify for the exemption you must be able to demonstrate the following criteria:
An attorney admitted to the New York State bar is also exempt from the continuing education requirement. Real estate salespersons are never exempt from the continuing education requirement. 
If there are deficiencies within your renewal application, you will receive a letter from the DOS requesting additional information; otherwise, allow three weeks to receive your License and Photo ID card. Your license and photo ID card will be mailed separately.
For additional help with license renewal, click here 

For LIVE and VIDEO Real Estate Continuing Education Classes, click here